Access Keys:

St Marys Primary School and Nursery Unit, Portaferry

Student Council


Hello and welcome to the Student Council page!

The Student Council is made up of a girl and a boy from each class from Primary 4 to Primary 7.

The boys and girls have all been voted for by their classmates.

Members of the Student Council are:

P4 – Conal Cleary

       Caoimbhe Smyth

P5 – Chloe McClements (secretary)

       Eoin Murray (vice-chairperson)

P6 – Eanna Coffey

         Ella-Louise Matchett (secretary)

P7 – Kady-Mae Arthurs (chairperson)

         Rossa Byers (vice-chairperson)

The Student Council helps Mr Gilchrist to make the school a better place.

We meet once a week to discuss issues raised and events taking place etc.

The Student Council have a suggestion box in a central area where boys and girls from St. Mary’s can put new ideas and suggestions forward to make our school a better place.

We then discuss these at our meetings and decide what to do about them.

Keep up to date on all our activities through the website!



8th Nov 2022
As a result of the great fundraising initiative  ‘Copper Wars’,...
21st Sep 2022
Yesterday at specially convened assembly, Mrs Breen came to speak to P4-7 about...
26th Apr 2022
Yesterday (Tuesday) the Student Council welcomed some very important visitors to...